Why this Profession, Lord?

I often asked God for the past three years of why did He let me take up Education? Why am I a teacher? 

I never signed up for this. I was planning to take up journalism or architecture, but Lord, why am I an educator?

I wanted to write my fantasies downright on a piece of paper and publish my own book. I wanted to let the whole world know that in writing, we can inspire and teach a lot of readers already. That in writing, I don’t need chalks and blackboards to let them know what I’m thinking. But why am I a teacher? 

If not an author or a writer of my own fictional books, I wanted to draw. I dreamt of designing my own dream house. Actually, google was mostly used up when I’m searching for different kinds of designs and even decorations for that matter. I even drew one draft and it didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to be but I’m willing to learn and study. But why am I a teacher? 

And that’s when this verse dawned upon me…

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11

I know that you’ve heard or read about this verse a lot of times but it is always true. The Word of God is true and it lasts for an eternity.

This reminded me that whatever you choose, it will always be the Lord’s will and plan for your life that will prevail. It might not be the one you wanted, the one you dreamt of but it’s always the best for you. 

I am a teacher with a purpose, with a mission. I am in this profession because God knows that I’m able to do whatever he asks me to do. I am in this profession because He knows that even if I will be having a hard time doing this along the way, He’s always there for me. I am in this profession not just because I am up for money but because I am a vessel for the lost souls. I am a teacher because God wants me to. 

Whatever profession you are in, God did not put you there because he’s challenging and testing your capabilities but because he knows that you deserve it and it is the best for you.

Leave a Reply

