Can we still go back?

There’s this song that kept playing in my head…

“I wanna go back to the way we used to be…”

As I listen to this, it reminded me of the times that I wanted to run away from God. I wanted to run away and just do whatever I wanted to. I wanted to run away where there’s no one who’s going to stop me doing the things I love, even if it doesn’t please God, I still want to run.

I know that most of us, as followers of Christ, have tried so many times to disobey God deliberately or made an attempt to do so and see what happens after. 

Will God take me back?

Am I still allowed to come home?

Would He still accept me as he did before?

These were just some of the questions I asked myself everytime I wanted to get the chains and put it back again on my own. Chains that have binded me to the pleasures of the flesh. Chains that have been long broken but I’m the one who’s trying to fix it and attach it to me again.

But out of all my disobedience, my ungodly character, my continuous resistance from time to time, I have experienced the Grace of God. I have experienced new Mercy everyday.

So, we are all sinners saved by His grace. We are always welcome with open arms, yes, but we are also disciplined by those hands not because he wanted to scare us but he wanted us to be in the zone where he strengthens us.

If you find it hard to obey, pray. If you find it hard to understand, pray. If you find it hard to resist the chains, pray. And that would be our only armor when we are bound to sin. Always go back to the time He saved you from that dark pit. Always go back to the time when He selflessly thought of you than anything else. Always go back home.

2 thoughts on “Can we still go back?

Leave a Reply

